Be Still!

~Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10 NIV)

~”Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalms 46:10 NASB)

~Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen; I will be exalted in the earth. (Psalm 46:10 KJVA)

~Let be and be still, and know (recognize and understand) that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations! I will be exalted in the earth! (Psalm 46:10 AMP)

~Be still, and know that I am Elohim: I will be exalted among the Goyim, I will be exalted in ha’aretz. (Tehillim 46:10 OJB)

*Well I could simply say read these different translations of this verse over and over again and let the study be done, but you know me, I do have a little bit more I want to share 🙂
Let’s start out with the Orthodox Jewish Bible, shall we? Good I am glad you agree.

I). Be still, and know that I am Elohim: I will be exalted among the Goyim, I will be exalted in ha’aretz. (Tehillim 46:10 OJB)
A). Know that I am Elohim…….
Elohim (translated “God” in English) is one of the Hebrew names used for God. It is used in the very beginning of the Bible to say that Elohim existed already and He created everything else. Elohim is a plural noun that can also refer to the various gods or the human authorities of the nations. However, here the Bible uses this noun to refer to the one true God. Please study this one out for yourself. Study it all out for yourself! I am only human and make mistakes often. I know some of you are shocked, sorry 🙂 ok back to my point.
1).The name Elohim designates God as Majestic Ruler over all.
a). Majesty means-supreme greatness or authority; sovereignty
b). Supreme means-highest in rank or authority; paramount; sovereign; chief of the highest quality, degree, character, importance, etc.: supreme courage, greatest, utmost, or extreme

*Yes I am trying to make a point here! Our Father, whom we also call Abba (daddy), is IT! He IS that and a bag of chips! He is all powerful, all mighty, all knowing, has the greatest characteristics that exist, His courage is like none other, and He chooses to be our daddy! I believe that if we truly had a clear picture of whom our Father is, we would not struggle Being Still and letting Him be God!

B)…….I will be exalted among the Goyim, I will be exalted in ha’aretz.
1). God will be exalted among the nation and all over the land!
a). Exalted means-raised or elevated, as in rank or character; of high station, noble or elevated.

*Elohim is telling us that He will be raised to the highest rank of nobility among the nations and among the earth! Do we really get that? God’s plan will be carried out! God is and always will be victorious! I know for me, having this conviction or lack of, directly effects how well I am able to Be Still.
The following are some great Psalms on praising God. For me, when I spend more time praising our Father, I have a better grasp on who He really is.
Psalms 8, 24, 29, 47, 92, 93, 95, 96, 98, 100, 104, 113, 135, 147, & 148 (The Power of Gratitude, by Gordon Ferguson)

II). Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalms 46:10 NASB)
A). Cease striving and know that I am God……..
1). Striving means-to exert oneself vigorously; try hard; to make strenuous efforts toward any goal: to strive for success. to contend in opposition, battle, or any conflict; compete. to struggle vigorously, as in opposition or resistance.
2). Cease means-to stop; discontinue, to come to an end, Obsolete. to pass away; die out, to put a stop or end to; discontinue.

*So what do we need to give over to God?
My husband and I own a residential renovation business, if we don’t go after getting work, we don’t work. There are people in my life that don’t know God yet and if I stop going after them, will they ever get to know God? Some of us may have marriages that are spiraling down, so does this mean you quit trying to fix it? Are you single and desperately want a husband, so does this mean you should stop going on dates or looking for that Mr. Right?
Maybe we don’t make enough money, so do we give up going after that promotion at work or going after an even better job? You add your own struggle in here.
Does God want us to work hard? I believe so. Does He want us to go after our goals and dreams? I desire that for my kids and God is the perfect parent. Does God want us to reach out to the lost? Absolutely. Should we have a conviction about having a great marriage and go after it? Without a doubt. Is it wrong to desire marriage? Not if that’s what you want. Aren’t we supposed to work and support ourselves and families? Yes.

III). I believe that the key word here is STILL! Just Be Still!
A). Still means-remaining in place or at rest: to stand still. Free from sound or noise; silent: to keep still about a matter, subdued or low in sound; hushed: a still, small voice, free from turbulence or commotion; peaceful; tranquil; calm: the still air.

* I have said to my husband that if he were able to be in my head for five minutes, he would freak out. I truly believe it to! You see by nature I am insecure and a huge, ugly worry wart. Trust me it is not pretty. Within a 60 second period, I can literally think of 100+ things and 99 of them are trying to figure out how to fix things or people. Such as, how am I going to get us the next job? How am I going to have enough money to pay the bills? How am I going to make my marriage better? How am I going to fix my kids? How can I help that sister get a husband? What if ______ happens? I can literally wake up from a sound sleep with a hundred things going on in my head.
How do I deal with that? By knowing that God is God and I am not! I have to take my thoughts captive and remember who God is!  (2 Corinthians 10:5) Did you notice in the paragraph above how many times I used the word ‘I’? Maybe we don’t always express that we think it’s us fixing things, but do our actions convey that?
When I choose to trust God and fix my eyes on who He is, I am able to be at peace and relax. Correct me if I am wrong, (I have no doubts that you will) but the only way that we are able to trust someone is to really get to know them, right? So, how much time each day are you spending to really get to know God? I personally do this by reading the Bible, prayer, looking around at all that God has done, being active with my spiritual family, and having great conversations about God. What are you doing?
Yes, I still do what I need to do. Such as, marketing for the business, working on my character, reaching out to the lost, but while I am doing it I have to remember that I am just an empty vessel being used by God and that His plan will be done. And His plan is always perfect! We do not have to live a stressed out life full of worry and exhaustion.

How do we practically Be Still? Great question, thanks 🙂
1. Learn who God is, so that you can really trust Him when times are hard. Study out His character. Example: (John 8) How did Jesus respond to all the different characters that were present here? Wait, didn’t I just suggest getting to know God. But isn’t this Jesus? Yes, God in the flesh. So if I study out Jesus’ character, aren’t we also learning about God’s character?
2. Find scriptures that directly apply to the things that you are trying to control and stressing out about. Post them on sticky notes all over your house, memorize them, and share them with others.
3. Sit and Be Still! Literally! Sometimes this is the most helpful thing for me. You all know by now that I love nature, so I will go sit on my porch and just listen to all of God’s animals and think about how at peace they are.                                                                                                         4. Go on a date with God, doing whatever I enjoy doing. Sometimes it’s going for a walk, sitting in my living room with a cup of coffee and a good book, even walking up and down the isles of a department store just looking at all the stuff. The key is that I mentally set it up where God and I are going to do this together, just for the purpose of hanging out!                                                5. Take a deep breathe and remind myself, God’s got this!

*Imagine this with me; you are in a boat with your best friends, husband and/or kids. You have been enjoying a great afternoon out on a beautiful lake. All of a sudden a huge storm comes out of no where. The waves are crashing in over the boat. Lightning is striking all around you. Your children are in a complete panic and the other adults are gripped with intense fear. What do you do? Look up to Heaven in the calmest voice and simply say, “God’s got this!”
(Matthew 8:23-27)

*It’s still a few days before payday and the bank account is completely empty. You have a few pieces of bread, and some left over meat. You’re hungry! The car starts making a funny sound. To top it all off the washing machine just quit. What do you do? Look up to Heaven and give thanks to God! (Matthew 14:19)

*At work today a co-worker, for whatever reason, started spreading lies about you. You thought you were actually friends with this person and now they have really hurt you. On the way home from work someone cuts you off and then has the nerve to shoot you the bird and cuss you out as they fly around you. Then upon arriving at home, your roommate has worn your favorite shirt without asking you and spilled grape juice, the dark colored kind, all down the front of it. Throws it in the washer and dryer before you get home to try and get the stain out. We know the outcome of that. You pick up the phone and call a best friend, because at this point you just need someone to talk to and she tells you to simply get over it. Not the compassion that you needed at the moment. What do you do? Get on your knees and say, “Father forgive them, because they do not know what they are doing?” (Luke 23:34)

*Please here me when I say, that I am not making light of anyone’s situation! Trials of all sizes are hard and can be very challenging for all of us! What I am challenging us to do, is to work at getting a deeper understanding of who God is and allow Him to be in control through the good and bad. Many times over the Bible says; Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Why? Maybe because God really wants us to grasp His grace (that study to come) and He really wants us to be at peace!

*Imagine one more thing with me; A day where no matter what happens, you are at total peace in your heart and mind, because you understand that your Father is All Powerful, All Mighty, All Knowing, Majestic, Sovereign, and that He Loves you unconditionally!
Psalm 4:8, 29:11, 37:37, 85:8-10

Lets all be untroubled and realize who God is, for He is superior among everyone that we know and don’t know!

Disclaimers;
*I am not a Bible scholar. Actually I do not claim to be much of a scholar of anything. The only degree I have is from the school of hard knocks!
*This is in no way an exhaustive study, it is meant to only be an appetizer.

*The purpose of this study is to challenge us to get into the Word and deepen our convictions on who God is and how He desires us to allow that knowledge to give us peace. If only one of you does this, mission accomplished.

May we always give glory to God for everything!
Dawna Cantway

Leave a Reply

